ramblings of an aimless mind

Just another Wordpress.com weblog

Make typos, increase blog hits.

with 3 comments

Yesterday I wrote a post with the title “Lemon brothers”. This was NOT a typo and was intended to be a pun (I enjoy this kind of stuff) on the latest financial situation of the bank. That title had an interesting consequence though.

When I wandered over to my blog after about a couple of hours, I realised that this punny title had brought me a truckload of hits simply based on search engine terms. Spurred on to do an experiment, I tried creating another dummy post with the title “Layman brothers” to see if that gets any hits as well. After giving the two posts a day to run their course, here are the final results…

Search Terms Hit(s)
lemon brothers bank 15
lemon brother bank 6
lemon brothers 10
lemons brothers bank 3
layman brothers 1
lehmann brothers fate 1
lehmann brothers 1
lemon brothers usa bank 1
bank lemon brothers 1
lemon brother september 2008 1

Including the name of the person/celebrity/firm that is currently hot news is a sure fire way of getting blog hits from search engines, as I first realised when I wrote about a certain footballer’s wedding with his name in the title and watched the post catapult to the “most read” status in a matter of days. In case I ever decide to try and make money out of blogging, I for sure am going to put loads of celeb names in titles, maybe even use a title like “nude celeb pics” and then hope that out of the millions who follow the link, at least a few will read what else I have to say on the more mundane issues of life. But this blog is not a commercial one so let me not digress any further on the topic.

What came as a surprise from this post though is the amount of traffic that can be had by using wrong spellings of the currently hot news person/firm. A google search for “lehman brothers” will probably put my blog on the millionth page or so, but a search for “lemon brothers” has it first one (go on. give it a try. While you are there click on my blog’s link 🙂 ). Obviously, I am missing out on a huge section of people who spell the word right, but then I still have access to the sizeable number who spelt it wrong and I have a higher chance of being seen because most other sites may stick to the proper spelling. If your writing is interesting, then you may still hold on to a lot of the people who come over.

So here is wisdom…if you are looking to increase blog hits from search engines, then knowing common typos can be helpful 🙂

p.s for those who got here by searching for “lemon brothers”, its spelt “lehman brothers”, but thanks for visiting anyway and hopefully you will be back.

Written by clueso

September 17, 2008 at 4:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you know that’s actually a valid tactic used by SEO’s to generate higher page ranks and bid for keywords on google?

    I have been learning some stuff about it, will post soon :D, great work though edison son.

    Kage

    October 10, 2008 at 8:26 am

  2. Damn! and here I was thinking that I found something innovative 😛

    I look forward to hearing more SEO tips though, in addition to celebrity names and typos…

    clueso

    October 10, 2008 at 8:43 am

  3. lol…that is hilarious!

    Another tip is to try Alpha Inventions. Very good resource. My hits are way up since using them.

    http://alphaiventions.com/

    Give it a try.

    halo274

    February 5, 2009 at 12:11 am


Leave a Reply

